Disney Villains Book Tag!

A friend of mine asked me to do this tag a few weeks ago and I couldn’t resist once I got a look at the questions. Villains can really make or break a book for me so I thought it would be interesting to share a little bit about my favorite and least favorite book villains.

                                                           

Maleficent: A book or book series in which there is an overwhelming sense of evil/doom

I’m going to have to pick the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. Nothing scares me as much as this books series and every time a new book comes out, I’m nervous to the point that it’s almost hard for me to read.  There’s always a feeling that anything and everything could go wrong at any moment and these books are beyond unpredictable, so I’m nonstop sweating as I read.

The Evil Queen: A book or book series in which the villain tricks the hero

Harry Potter is the obvious answer and it’s the one I’m going to go with. During the fourth and fifth books especially, it just feels like Voldemort is constantly running circles around Harry.

Cruella DeVil: A book or book series in which the villain brings about their own demise

This one was actually kind of hard to pick but in the end I had to go with every bad guy in The Others series by Anne Bishop. Anyone that thinks they can go against the Others and win really brought their death upon themselves and should have known better… They are all ridiculously over powered and usually crush the threat like a teensy insignificant little bug.

Ursula: A book or book series that left you speechless

I have to pick the Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson. If you’ve read this series, you know why. If you haven’t, you should, and I can’t really say without ruining it. But damn, that ending just… wow.

Captain Hook: A book or book series in which you just can’t take the villain seriously

Thanks to the despicable final battle in Inheritance by Christopher Paolini, big bad Galbatorix will always be something of a joke to me. I don’t want to spoil it but lets just say the fight ended in a very ridiculous way that forever took away every bit of evil mojo that Galbatorix was working.

Jafar: A book or book series in which the villain almost wins

I feel like just about every book could qualify for this one but the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews specifically stands out to me, simply because in every book, you have that “Oh ****” moment where you really think the bad guy is going to win. Every. Single. Book. It gets exhausting being so stressed out at the end of every book and frantically trying out figure out a way Kate or her friends won’t die in a horribly gruesome way.

Hades: A book or book series in which you can’t help but love the villain

The Darkling from The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. Damn, that boy made the dark side look good. He just had this sexy and seductive way about him that made me honestly want the main character to just abandon everyone and rule by his side with an iron fist of darkness. And he seriously needed a hug or two throughout the series.

Scar: A book or book series with family betrayal

Obviously The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare is probably a common choice for this one. Or uhm, how about any book Cassandra Clare ever writes? She obviously likes family betrayal which is kind of sad when you think about it.

Gaston: A book or book series where the villain makes a fool of themselves

This one has to go to the LAMEST villains of all time; The Volturi from the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer. Everyone was so scared by this group of heartless ancient vampires and just when a big awesome battle is about to happen, they tuck their tails and run. What a bunch of babies, lamest showdown ever.

Hans: A book or book series with a villain you didn’t see coming

Huge spoiler alert on this one (obviously) but I have to go with Maven from Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. That boy is pure evil times two because on top of being evil, he successfully made everything think (including me) that he was good just so he could turn around and stab them in the back. Talk about cold.

                                             

Okay eveyone, I’m going to nominate anyone that reads this and decides they want to do this tag too because it is way too much fun to keep to myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

