Review: Dream a Little Dream

Title: Dream a Little Dream (Silver#1) 21469090

Author: Kerstin Gier

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.

Publication Date: April 14, 2015

Summary: Mysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yes, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially this one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys conduct dark magic rituals.

The strangest part is that Liv recognizes the boys in her dream. They’re classmates from her new school in London, the school where she’s starting over because her mom has moved them to a new country (again). But what’s really scaring Liv is that the dream boys seem to know things about her in real life, things they couldn’t possibly know—unless they actuallyare in her dreams? Luckily, Liv could never resist a good mystery, and all four of those boys are pretty cute…

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Dream a Little Dream starts of kind of slow, following sassy Liv and her little sister Mia as they move to London and start over with a new school. Not only a new school, but potentially a new family as her mother reveals that she is dating a professor with two kids. Though Liv is tired of moving, there are a few perks about their new life; mostly the intriguing new mystery that presents itself. Not to mention the professor’s hot son and his three equally hot friends. The only problem is that Liv starts having really weird dreams including the four hottest boys at her school, and it seems that her dreams are real.

The main thing that I enjoyed about this book were the fun dream aspects. I loved seeing all of the ways that different people dreamed and what it said about them. The idea in this book, of being able to walk through other’s dreams, is such a fun idea and I thought that the author did a really good job of making the dream scenes funny but insightful. The author also used the idea of doors to other people’s dreams actually being doors and with that, people can put locks and defenses on their doors to keep other’s out. I thought that was a fun way to say something about a person, by how their door looked and what sort of defenses they put up. I kind of wish that Liv had done more snooping through people’s dream, but I felt like we unfortunately didn’t get much dream time through the book, something that was my favorite part and I would have liked to see more of.

I also liked Liv as a main character, I thought she was fun and clever and I loved her constant desire to solve mystery. And I liked her relationship with her sister, the way that they were so familiar and played off of each other’s jokes and snark constantly made me laugh. Liv though, was constantly a weird blend of responsible and irresponsible, which drove me a little crazy. There were times when she would really think things through or make notes and charts, and I would be impressed with how levelheaded she was being about the situation. Then there were times where she would just act so stupid and jump into a situation without thinking. I wish her character would have been a little bit more consistent in her decision making.

My main complaint about this book was that it really felt awkward at times and the writing wasn’t my favorite. The pacing was off sometimes, randomly jumping around without warning and I had to go back sometimes to figure out what day or time we had jumped to because it was so abrupt. Then the writing just felt weird and choppy, which was really off putting. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but something about the writing just constantly struck me as strange. I’ve never read any of Kerstin Gier’s other books so I’m not sure if it’s just her writing style or this book in particular.

Unfortunately when it comes to this book, I can’t help but compare this group of boys to the boys from The Raven Boys and these boys pale in comparison. One of the things I absolutely love about the boys in The Raven Boys was the relationship they all have with each other and how they just felt so real. This book is definitely lacking those aspect, you never really feel like you get to know any of the boys on a personal level except for Henry, but that’s mostly because he’s the love interest so he gets more page time. Speaking of love, the romance in this book was another thing that felt pretty bland. Although I like Liv and Henry both as characters, I just was’t buying the romance between them. The banter between the two was great and I liked the similarities between them, but I still don’t believe that two people can fall in love so quick.

Overall, Dream a Little Dream has some really fun aspects, with the witty banter between characters and the interesting dream exploration. However, it was hard to actually get into the story with the awkward writing and not connecting with any of the secondary characters. Despite the slow start though, once the story get’s going, the mystery keeps you entertained and I found that I wanted to learn a lot more about the dreams and the demon that was in the middle of everything. The ending was definitely anti-climactic and felt a little random, but there were enough mysteries left unexplained to keep you intrigued and waiting for the next book.

RATING: 

3 thoughts on “Review: Dream a Little Dream

Leave a Reply

