Top 5 Series I Want To Start This Year

Starting up my book blog and booktube channel last year really opened my eyes and introduced me to some really great series that I’ve been missing out on. As the year ended and I realized my TBR piles had grown substantially, I decided it was time for me to start tackling these books.

1.Outlander by Diana Gabaldon: Every person I follow on YouTube that has anything to do with books, absolutely adores this series and I hate that I’m missing out. I bought the first one, I just need to sit down and read it. It sounds like an amazing historical romance and I’ve heard enough girls gushing about Jamie to know I’m going to fall head-over-heels in love with him. Plus, it takes place in Scotland. How can I resist that?

2. Half-Blood (Covenent #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout: I just recently read Jennifer L. Armentrout’s White Hot Kiss and adored it. So now I’m going a little crazy and trying to get my hands on all of her other books. This is a YA series and it gets absolutely fabulous reviews on Goodreads, so I don’t know how I haven’t read it yet. But I do know there’s going to be a great romance and loads of action. That’s enough for me.

3. The Lies of Locke Lomara (Gentleman Bastard #1) by Scott Lynch: I’ve been meaning to read this series forever. And after listening to a couple of booktube girls gush about how much they love these books, I knew this year was going to be it. This is supposed to be an amazing fantasy series and follows a clever criminal and his group of thieves. I’ve been meaning to read more epic fantasy type books and this seems like the best place to start.

4. The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1) by Patrick Ness: Another series that I constantly hear people gush about. I own the second book actually, but not the first for some reason. The idea of a whole town where everyone can hear each other’s thoughts is really intriguing and so many people have promised that this book will blow my mind. It sounds exciting and suspenseful and twisty and I’ve never read anything by Patrick Ness but I’ve heard lots of good things about his writing.

5. The Demon King (Seven Realms #1) by Cindy Williams Chima: I decided I wanted to read this series after listening to one of my favorite booktubers talk about how Han, one of the main characters in this series, is one of her top fictional boyfriends of all time. I decided I needed to investigate this and found myself drawn into the summary. Not to mention that this first book has one of the best ratings I’ve ever seen for the first in a series. This one features another thief (obviously I have a type) and a princess and wizards and all sorts of magical fantasy stuff I can never resist.

What are some series you guys are wanting to start this year?

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Series I Want To Start This Year

  1. I really loved The Lies of Locke Lamora! It was so incredible but I haven’t continued on with the series yet. The Demon King… It is staring at me from my bookshelf, I really need to read that too! I’ve been wanting to read Outlander as well but it’s so intimidating! They are not only huge, but there are so many of them… I didn’t particularly like The Knife of Never Letting Go, but I hope that you will! The writing was just a bit too… chaotic for me -pun intended 😀

    Great post 🙂

    • Thanks! Outlander is intimidating, I’m nervous I’m going to love it then try to marathon the whole series and be stuck in that for like a month haha but I hear too many good things to not read them! Gah, The Lies of Locke Lamora sounds so good, I need to get my hands on it. There are so many good series I want to start, it was so hard to narrow it down!

Leave a Reply

