Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Title: Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3) 17378508

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Publication Date: October 21, 2014

Summary:

There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Before you venture any further, please understand that this review will contain SPOILERS. See, I capitalized it so you couldn’t miss it and complain about me ruining the book for you. It will contain spoilers for Blue Lily, Lily Blue and potentially the previous two books.

Now, on to the important stuff… Like how freaking good this book was. I don’t know what it is about Maggie Stiefvater’s writing and character development, but these books knock my socks off. Some of the best characters and bromances ever, a super engaging mystery and plot, beautiful writing, these books are where it’s at.

So at the end of the last book, we were left with a few things: Blue and Gansey are secretly falling in lurve, Ronan has learned how to control pulling things out of his dreams, and Blue’s mom is… underground? It was a lot to leave us with for a year. And Blue Lily, Lily Blue starts with the search for Blue’s mom not really going so well. They assume she must be in the cave with Glendower, but the problem is that they have no idea where that is. Adam is having problems understanding what Cabeswater wants from him, Ronan is trying to figure out how to wake up all the creatures at his home, and on top of everything, Greenmantle, the big bad guy that sent Mr.Gray, is in town. And now we have our book.

I will admit, the plot in Blue Lily, Lily Blue is not as fast paced as the other books, nor does it necessarily feel like many things happen. This doesn’t make the book boring though. You are constantly delving into the relationships between the different characters, things that maybe seem unimportant in the grand scheme of the plot, but are actually essential to the character building. Which is great because I feel like that’s what these books are really about. When I read them, the mystery and quest for Glendower is exciting, but what I really focus on is the characters. These books are about the raven boys.

Blue is, as always, just amazing. One of my favorite female protagonists out of any book, she continues to be tough and caring and intelligent and in her own way, at times just what each of the boys need. I love how she has a different relationship with each boy, and never feels out of places with one or all of them. Blue is utterly comfortable and secure in her friendship with them. I also really liked seeing the change in Blue’s powers, not that they necessarily develop, but she becomes more aware of them and through that, she can control them more. She is already such a complex character, that unearthing even more layers just makes her more Blue.

I love Gansey so much that through this whole book, I was just sweating and waiting for him to die. That sounds so horrible, but there is just no way out of it that I can see. Reading from his perspective, seeing how he truly has no idea that it’s coming and just watching his love for Blue grow, it’s literally painful. Actually, I don’t know if the sexual tension between him and Blue or seeing his death lurking around every corner was more painful. They both suck. Learning a bit about Gansey’s past makes me like him even more, seeing how his death experience created kind of who he is now, more independent and all the things that make him the Gansey they love. And the encounter in the cave, when he fell in the hole and thought the wasps were down there… Holy. Shit. My heart stopped. I just need Gansey to die and exactly 0.1 seconds later, Glendower or Cabeswater magically revives him before anyone can even realize what happened. When I think about him dying, the thing that hurts me most is actually thinking about Ronan’s reaction. Just stop and imagine that for a second.

I never really liked Adam through the last two books, I found him rude and unfair to his friends. I respect his drive, the determination he has to make a life for himself, but I don’t like the way he makes everything awkward and uncomfortable with getting pissy or mopey every time one of his friends throws around a little cash or offers to pay for lunch. We all get that he is too proud to accept handouts, but you don’t have to be such a jerk and make your friends feel bad about something they can’t control. In this book though, Adam had more important things on his mind, so it didn’t come up much. Which made him about a million times more likable. Also, his new powers were kind of spooky but really interesting, I have a feeling that Adam is going to play a much larger part in the next book. Just saying it now though, if any of them have to die, I hope it’s him.

Ronan might be my favorite, you guys. Finding out that he created Matthew from his dreams just makes me love him so much, he worries so much about what’s going to happen to him and his mother. When I see him in my mind, he is just an asshole. But when I’m reading about him, and I actually see him, it’s so much different. Ronan is loyal and viscous and lonely and I feel like he is one of the best friends you could ever ask for in your life. Watching Ronan being such an dick to his friends just cracks me up because you know he just acts like that because he loves them. But god, Ronan is just such a cutie sometimes, I can’t even handle it. I mean, he would probably literally rip my face off if he knew I was calling him a cutie, and he is terrifying and rude, but it’s so cute sometimes I can’t even handle it. If Ronan dies, I’m going to be so done. Also, is anyone else wondering about the girl that’s in Ronan’s dream-scape place? I assumed she would make another appearance or have some significance in this book, but she was never mentioned again.

The thing that I love about this book, besides the brotherly love, is the beautiful, magical writing. Maggie Stiefvater writes in such a visual way, that I can see every scene she describes, reading these books is about as close as you can get to actually living the story. And I adore it. I honestly feel like I’m friends with all of these characters and it makes me sad that I don’t know them in real life. And it seemed like this book, more that the previous, gave me some serious shivers. With all the spooky caves and voices and tombs, I was getting the heebie jeebies and was impressed at the eerie atmosphere she managed to create in each of those situations.

Greenmantle and his wife were just ridiculous and kind of silly, but in a way it made them more sinister. I just didn’t get how Piper even knew so much about Glendower’s tomb and why two people could wake up the third sleeper, even though we were constantly told through the book that it would take three people? Also, holy crap, where the hell did Neeve suddenly come from? Did she just come out of no where and decide to start unleashing a huge potential evil into the world for no reason? Speaking of which, what the heck was the third sleeper that got woken up? I’m so anxious to find out what it is and why it was such a big deal that they didn’t wake it.

This book was perfect as the next addition to the series. It introduced new characters, evil and silly and unique, and it moved the plot forward to a place that feels perfectly set up for the next book. I cannot wait for the next book, this series is in my top favorites right now, I can’t handle all the feels that they give me. If I had to pick one book to choose to come out right now, the fourth book might be it. I can’t believe I just said that. Now you know just how much I love this series.

RATING: 

One thought on “Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue

  1. Pingback: 14 Favorite Books of 2014 | Addicted To Ink

Leave a Reply

