Review: The Blood of Olympus

Title: The Blood of Olympus (The Heroes of Olympus #5)  18705209

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Publication Date: October 7, 2014

Summary: Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen—all of them—and they’re stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood—the blood of Olympus—in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it “might” be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea’s army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

I’m not even ashamed to admit that I busted this book out in three hours. It was like I physically could not get myself to slow down or stop, I had to finish it. For those of you that don’t know, I absolutely adore the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series. Years and years ago, my mom picked me up some tattered copy of the first one from our local Half Price Books, and I promptly threw it on my bedside table and ignored it for months. Then, on a hot summer day, I picked it up, and cursed myself for not reading it sooner. These books are amazing. If you have not read them, go get them now. You won’t regret it.

After finishing this book, I had to sit in a bitter depression for a few hours before starting this, wallowing in my mixed emotions. Sadness, for the end of another great series. Happiness, because this book was everything I had hoped for and more. Self hatred, for being such a fast reader and not savoring every word. And excitement, because in the back was the title for the first book of Rick Riordan’s new Norse series.

You guys, this book was so good. The thing I love, is that I’ve never once been afraid of getting a bad book out of the Percy Jackson or Heroes of Olympus series. I have complete and utter faith in Rick Riordan, something I think I can only say for a few other authors. The Blood of Olympus was adventurous, emotional, funny, emotional, suspenseful, emotional… I think you get it. I didn’t know if I should laugh or cry through half of this book, so I did both.

Instead of addressing each of the millions of characters, I’m just going to talk about the ones that stood out the most for me. I’m going to try my best to keep this spoiler free, so you can read without fear if you haven’t gotten your hands on a copy of the book yet.

Nico. My poor baby Nico. One of the things that I love most about this series is that we get more of him and he has really had time to shine throughout these books. I feel kind of funny saying that the depressed, sulking teenage son of Hades shines, but it’s true. My relationship with Nico is bittersweet because I hate that he is suffering and so lonely, but at the same time, I can’t help but love him for it and want to give him a comforting hug. He would probably banish me to the underworld for that, but I still want to. Reading his POV in this book, understanding how he feels about everything, it makes you realize that his isn’t just being a normal teenage boy, he actually thinks that no one likes him and he doesn’t belong anywhere. But he really grows through this book, opening up and letting people in. And he helps the quest so much, as much as he likes to blame it on the fact that he would do anything for Percy, I know it’s just because he has a big, warm heart hiding way down somewhere.

Leo was another character whose POV we got to read. I’ve always loved him, I have a soft spot for the clowns that actually have depth inside, even if they try to cover it up with jokes and a frighteningly large arsenal of modified grenades. But in this book, Leo has such drive and purpose, it was like seeing a whole other side of him. He really steps it up to help his friends, because they are his friends and he loves them. And he has such smarts, reading about his new inventions is one of my favorite parts of this series. And his love for Calypso is so cute, I felt so bad for her in the Percy Jackson series, she needs a Leo.

We don’t really know much about Reyna, but in this book we get to learn a whole lot more about her history. That poor girl, she had a rough time. Her and Nico become close and develop a hesitant friendship, and it really showed what kind of person she was, that she could get through to Nico and cares about him. One top of everything, she is a mega bad-ass. I love how commanding she is and she just radiates pure leadership. I love any lady that can hold her own against big scary monsters but this girl kicked some serious ass. I felt like Reyna still had some story to tell though, even though this series is over.

Unfortunately, we didn’t get a particularly large amount of Percy or Annabeth time. It felt like they were just kind of in the background, which makes sense since they had so much of The House of Hades to themselves, and technically Jason, Piper, and Leo are the three heroes of this story. But Percy is my absolute favorite and after being spoiled with him in the last book, his lack of shine time in this one was disappointing. I should have expected it, but it was still disappointing.

Jason is the one character that I never loved. I like him fine, and I like his role in these books, but he never really stood out for me. I love Nico because he is sulky, sad, tormented Nico. And Leo is the funny and sweet guy that everyone loves. Jason is just kind of like the strong leader guy, which in my mind, that position has already been filled by Percy. While he did kick some butt in this book, and I liked seeing him and Percy work together, he never really made much of an impression to me. And I absolutely love Piper, and I love the role she had to play in this book and how she helped in the end, but her parts in this book don’t necessarily stand out to me either.

Now for the bad guys. Octavian. I hate that guy. I hate him with a fiery passion. Not only is he kind of creepy with his stuffed animal sacrificing addiction, but he was such a backstabbing, two faced, power hungry jerk. I hated him more than the actually bad guy, Gaea. Gaea was super scary and everything, whispering in people’s ears and sending them spooky dreams, but Octavian was actually a physical person so I could imagine punching him in the face with much more satisfaction. Imagining going outside and punching the dirt just makes me feel embarrassed. We also got introduced to a new bad guy, Orion, who was basically a woman hating butt-face, with a really big bow.

Do I even need to reassure you guys that the plot was great? It moved along quickly and was so suspenseful and fun, it kept you on your toes the whole time. I really love the alternating POV in these books, it moves the story along so quickly and being able to read a book through multiple of your favorite characters eyes is the best. You have no idea what I would have given to read some of the Percy Jackson books in Annabeth’s POV. No idea. But my favorite thing is watching the prophecy come together in the end. I love trying to put the pieces together in my head up until the last second, then Rick Riordan blows my mind. The ending was a roller-coaster of emotions. I was basically like “Yay! NO! Wait, what?! NO, NO, NO! YAY! Woo hoo! Oh my, holy cow! YES! NO WAY! No, stop. Please stop. Hang on… YES! YES! THIS BOOK! MY FEELS!” The whole experience exhausted me, but in such a good way.

If you haven’t read The Blood of Olympus, do it now. If you haven’t read any of these books, do it now. Oh and the title of the first book of Magnus Chase and The Gods of Asgard is… THE SWORD OF SUMMER. Which gives me absolutely no insight as to what it’s going to be about. Thanks for that, Rick. Thanks a lot.

RATING:  

12 thoughts on “Review: The Blood of Olympus

  1. I finished the book this afternoon and I have to agree it was all very exciting to read but I expected more. Maybe I over estimated it or I’m just getting older but I wanted to see more out of Percy and Annabeth like the old days in the first series! In fact we saw little of Frank and Hazel too. And I love Frank! So I was a bit disappointed that only a few of the characters had major roles in this book. And to me, Gaea was way too easy. Either she was full of schist or the Demigods were way stronger than they felt. In the end, it was epic but it still didn’t tie itself together. It felt like a rush. And it’s clear that there will be more to tell in the future. A third Percy Jackson series to come! 😀

    • I know, I get that Percy and Annabeth had a huge role in The House of Hades, but they were barely even in this book which I found very disappointing. I felt like when you look at The Blood of Olympus as a whole, it seems rushed, without any real character progression or challenges before the final battle. Which, like you said, was super easy. I feel like the ending with Gaea was supposed to be about Leo’s sacrifice but when she woke up, it didn’t even matter. There was no real sense of urgency or fear because the big baddie got awoken and she didn’t even have a chance to do anything before she was destroyed. It was very anticlimactic. I would kill for a third series though. Percy is one of my favorite characters ever. What are your thoughts on the new Norse series Rick Riordan is writing?

      • I like Rick Riordan’s style of writing but I tried reading The Kane Chronicles and I didn’t fall in love with the characters like I did with the Percy Jackson series. The Kane Chronicles felt like too much was going on at once and I couldn’t comprehend a lot of it. Just didn’t feel as visual or magical to me. I think Norse mythology will be much easier to write than Egyptian. I will definitely give The Sword of Summer a try but it’ll have to be mind blowing for me to keep reading. Just like the Percy Jackson series if not better. And I read Rick Riordan’s blogs and he has already mentioned about writing a 3rd Percy Jackson series. Not in the near future, but definitely not out of sight. So much anticipation for that day! 😀 But if it’s one thing I’d like to change, it’d be switching back to 1st person with less POV’s. Cause I think we could’ve gone the whole series without needing to know majority of the new character’s thoughts and feelings. All of their backgrounds were cool, but the only entertaining narrators were Percy, Frank, Leo, and Annabeth. And maybe Piper. Point is, is that there wasn’t enough room between all 7 heroes (Plus 2 more) to narrate within 500 pages. It could’ve been much simpler and clearer from just a couple perspectives, and we would’ve gotten more out of it I think.

      • Same here! The Kane Chronicles just didn’t really interest me, not the in the way the Percy Jackson books do. I’m hoping The Norse series will be good, and I hope we get to see Percy and Annabeth at least once, since Rick Riordan said that the main character having the same last name as Annabeth is obviously not a coincidence. Has he mentioned anything on what the third series might be about? I would die to have more books about Percy, but I would just feel bad if he got pulled into more quests after all of this and him and Annabeth wanting to settle down now. I loved the Percy Jackson series in first person POV, that was great. I feel like with the Heroes of Olympus series having so many characters and different plot lines where the characters split up, he couldn’t have reasonably kept it down to one or two character’s POV’s. But I agree, it would have been better otherwise. The Blood of Olympus seemed so jumbled I think because there were so many different characters POV’s, some of which seemed unnecessary.

  2. Rick Riordan hasn’t mentioned any descriptions about the third series of Percy Jackson. It’s too far away for that. But I can already predict that all of the characters will be older. The Blood of Olympus ended just a few weeks before Percy’s 17th birthday. It’s hard to believe he’s still just 16! I was 12 when I started reading the Percy Jackson books and now I’m 18 and older than the characters! Crazy haha. And ya know what else? I fully expected someone to die in this series. That’s usually what makes books like this more memorable. But I didn’t cry once so there’s something wrong here! Lol

  3. Rick Riordan hasn’t mentioned any descriptions at all because it’s just so far away from now. But I predict that the characters will be older. The Blood of Olympus ended just a few weeks before Percy’s 17th birthday. Can’t believe he’s still 16! I was 12 when I started reading these books and now I’m 18! I’m older than the characters now haha. And I fully expected someone to die in this series. But, oh well… Lol.

    • Dang, he should do the new series before the Norse one haha I was kind of hoping someone was going to die, just because I enjoyed how this series was a little more serious and had some darker parts in comparison to the Percy Jackson one, and I would have liked a little tragedy in this one. That sounds really evil of me, but sometimes I like for quests to have some realistic, serious repercussions. I find it more suspenseful, so the second they made the cure to bring someone back to life, everything got a little less exciting because I knew no one was actually going to die, you know?

      • I totally agree on that. Realistically, you KNOW someone would’ve died in battle. I was looking forward to someone dying XD But I would’ve flipped if it happened to Percy or Annabeth. Annabeth dying and needing to be revived would’ve been a better story.. THAT would actually make me cry but that’s what makes a great story. Like The Hunger Games lol

  4. Oh, and I still have no idea what Leo was trying to do with that Physician’s Cure. I read it all so fast I probably didn’t catch it. But as far as I could tell, he never did anything with it. Unless he somehow used it to bring Festus back into its dragon form? I don’t know. And I think my favorite scene out of the whole book was with Piper and Annabeth fighting off the giant Mimas at the Temple of Fear. It’s awesome when the ladies kick ass! Other than that, I felt utterly dissapointed with how this book was written. Which is why there HAS to be another series. And I think the best book in the whole series was The Mark of Athena. All of the heroes were together, Percy and Annabeth reunited, and it was really fun as a reader to see all of the characters kick butt with their different powers. Just wish there was more of that in The Blood of Olympus!

    • I was confused too with that part. I think Leo work up and Festus was injecting it into him, bring him back to life. But why be so secretive about it? And, if there was a huge explosion that destroyed Gaea, how the heck did Festus stay intact enough to fly, and how did Leo not get blow to pieces? I was reading quickly too, but I don’t think it was explained. Also, Leo was concerned about getting the crystal thing to lead them back to Calypso because he couldn’t figure out how to get it to work, then he just woke up and they were there? Maybe I missed that too but I don’t know. The Mark of Athena was great, although I did love all the Percy and Annabeth time we got in The House of Hades. I just love that this series had way more Nico time, I love that kid.

  5. I’m ready for the next series already! Just make Percy and Annabeth fresh out of college so they can get married and have another crazy story! Lol And I still have no idea how many cabins they have at Camp Half-Blood. But now that Nico is staying there, it’ll be a lot more interesting! I think it’s kinda funny that Jason and Percy are switching camps, but it’s better that way. I still like Camp Half-Blood more though ❤

  6. Pingback: 14 Favorite Books of 2014 | Addicted To Ink

Leave a Reply

