New Norse Mythology Series by Rick Riordan

Rick Riordan has finally announced his new Norse mythology series under the title, Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard. The first book of the series is expected to be released in October 2015, and the title will be announced in the back of The Blood of Olympus, the final book in the Heroes of Olympus series that comes out October 7, 2014.

Annabeth Chase is one of the main characters in Riordan’s Percy Jackson series and we all can’t help but doubt that the identical last names is a coincidence. Whether Annabeth and Magnus are related has yet to be revealed but there is little doubt on everyone’s mind.

The only other information we’ve been given so far is that he is planning for this to be a trilogy and it’s set to take place in Boston.

Now for those of you that haven’t read the Percy Jackson series, then the Heroes of Olympus series following that, you are severely missing out. Rick Riordan is master writer, weaving mythology, humor, adventure, and a cast of truly unforgettable characters into a series that I believe everyone should read.

This announcement really excites me because I love Riordan’s writing and I love the way he ties in mythology to our world. I honestly never really got into The Kane Chronicles but I have a lot more interest in Norse mythology than Egyptian and I’m hoping that Magnus Chase’s connection to Annabeth might bring in some of the characters from the Percy Jackson books.

I’m definitely going to keep my eyes peeled for any news about this series, and once I devour The Blood of Olympus on next Tuesdays, I’ll be sure and share the title of the first book.

Leave a Reply

