Review: Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2)

Title: Unravel Me 13104080

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Publisher: HarperCollins

Publication Date: February 5, 2013

Summary:

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Eh. I feel like I’m going to get a lot of hate from this review but honesty is the best policy. And just as a warning, a lot of this is going to be spoilers. I read Shatter Me a little while ago, after all people were telling me was that this series was amazing and I just had to read it. Shatter Me was interesting and dark and I enjoyed it just fine. The author’s writing style was different and refreshing, if a little hard to take occasionally. But all in all, I had a good time reading it. So I jumped on the wait list for Unravel Me at the library, and just yesterday, I finally got my hands on it.

And holy shit, talk about romance over-kill. This book made me so angry and mad and kind of sick to my stomach. Every single chapter was just like ten page chunks of Juliette poetically swooning over every single little thing about Adam. This literally took up almost all of the book. I was excited to see how Omega Point ran, what they were doing to rebel, other people’s powers, but that was barely even touched at any point in the book. And because of the heavy amounts of romance, the author’s writing just became annoying. I was literally just skipping over paragraphs because I felt like it was the exact same thing I read in the chapter before. Not to mention that every single time that Juliette even sees Adam, it’s her trying not to swoon. Example:

Page 14: I could touch him from here. His eyes, dark blue. His hair, dark brown. His shirt, too tight in all the right places and his lips, his lips twitch up to flick the switch that lights the fire in my heart and I don’t even have time to blink and exhale before I’m caught up in his arms.

Page 36: The way he looks at me. His eyes are heavy now in a way that worries me, but his gaze is still so tender, so focused and full of feeling that I can hardly keep myself out of his arms when I’m around him. I find myself watching him doing the simplest things- shifting his weight, grabbing a tray, nodding good morning to someone- just to track the movement of his body. My moments with him are so few that my chest is always too tight, my heart too spastic. He makes me want to be impractical all the time.

Page 83: “Juliette,” he says, but he’s not looking at me; he’s looking at all of me. His eyes are searching my body as if to ensure I’m still intact, arms and legs and everything in between. It’s only when he finds my face that he meets my gaze; I step into a sea of blue in his eyes, dive right in and drown. I feel like someone’s punched a fist into my lungs and snatched up all my oxygen.

10726694

There is so much more where that came from, it’s not even funny. Now I have nothing against romance, I’m a huge sappy mess when I ship characters and Adam and Juliette are fine, I liked them together more in the first book. My problem is that there is just so much of this shit, pages and pages of poetic make-out scenes, Juliette’s poor body about to die every time she looks at Adam, it’s just tiresome to keep reading about. But the thing that makes me the angriest is that the author knows she is doing this. At several points during this book, Kenji calls Juliette out on how she needs to stop moping around about her love life and actually start doing something. The author is aware that Juliette is being a self centered, overly romantic and whiny little girl, and the author is aware that everyone is this place is annoyed by it (readers included) but she does it anyways. I think she thought that Juliette having flaws and being so needy after being locked up for years would make her likable and realistic, but it had the opposite effect on me. And she doesn’t get a free pass on piling up the romantic bullshit just because she has another character address it. I’m pretty sure that’s not how it works.

The plot seriously suffered because of this. It moved slowly and never really addressed the things that I wanted to know about, Omega Point specifically. Plus, I felt like the author’s need to make everything super descriptive and beautiful sounding weighted down a lot of scenes. I just find Juliette as a character hard to relate to because of this writing style. That and the fact that she was so up and down all the time. She was either completely wracked with self loathing and guilt, or she was some powerful feeling bad ass. I know that she is going to have some emotional and mental problems after everything she went through, and I try to keep that in mind while reading.

Now I have to talk about the whole Warner situation. Not only was this completely predictable, but it was almost silly. I mean, I’m on team Warner if I’m being honest here, but the silly part was how almost this whole book was just Juliette panting after Adam, and she spends three seconds with Warner and they are literally sucking face and about ready to bang. She does not understand a single thing about self control. I like Warner more than Adam, he is a more interesting character to me, but there are some problems. Yes, he is sad and broken and abused so it’s not really his fault that he’s crazy and evil sometimes. But, he still did kill a lot of people and torture Juliette and various other evil acts. I’m all for forgiveness but he has done some really bad shit and I’m not sure if that’s just going to be ignored in the next book because the power of love can overcome any obstacles. Blech.

Also, there were a few scenes that I made me just wanted to smack my head against the wall. Uhm, how about the scene where Juliette finds out that he touching Adam hurts and drains him. So what do they do? They furiously make out, almost have hot steamy sex but are sadly interrupted by Adam’s near death… Just let that soak in for a minute. It was so stupid and ridiculous, I kind of hoped that Juliette would kill Adam just to give her a nice little reality check and knock some sense into her. Oh and did I mention the scene where Juliette get’s shot by Warner’s father, who just leaves her there to die. But wait a second, he left before she making sure she was actually dead and conveniently forgot about the two girls he went through all this trouble to kidnap, that can heal. So of course, Warner goes and grabs them and they save her… Wow, wasn’t that just lucky as fuck?

I tried really hard to not rant but I was just so frustrated by this book. I expected so much more and was very disappointed. The only characters I really liked were Kenji and Warner, and only a small portion of this book was actually interesting. Am I going to read the next one? Yes, I’m going to finish the series of course. Do I have any hopes or expectations for the next one? Nope, I’m just hoping it can’t get any worse at this point.

RATING: 

Leave a Reply

