Review: The Nightmare Affair

Title: The Nightmare Affair ( The Arkwell Academy #1) 12411635

Author: Mindee Arnett

Publication Date:  March 5, 2013

Publisher: Tor Teen

Summary: Sixteen-year-old Dusty Everhart breaks into houses late at night, but not because she’s a criminal. No, she’s a Nightmare.

Literally.

Being the only Nightmare at Arkwell Academy, a boarding school for magickind, and living in the shadow of her mother’s infamy, is hard enough. But when Dusty sneaks into Eli Booker’s house, things get a whole lot more complicated. He’s hot, which means sitting on his chest and invading his dreams couldn’t get much more embarrassing. But it does. Eli is dreaming of a murder.

Then Eli’s dream comes true.

Now Dusty has to follow the clues—both within Eli’s dreams and out of them—to stop the killer before more people turn up dead. And before the killer learns what she’s up to and marks her as the next target.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Well I just realized that the cover of this book is very similar to the previous book I reviewed, Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan. Except this one looks more like it’s some sad excuse of a mystery book with a badass girl who talks to ghosts. You know what kind of book I’m talking about.

Anyways, I had mixed feelings with this book. The second I read that it’s about a school for witches and wizards and all things paranormal, my inner Harry Potter lover got super excited. Another school with interesting classes on controlling magic, hidden passage ways, and mysterious teachers. Except there was absolutely none of that in here. Sure, Dusty went to her classes, but it’s not like she ever actually did anything besides stare at hottie new guy and get mysterious tingles. I swear, the only reason this book took place at this school was just so the mean girl had plenty of opportunities to be bitchy to Dusty, and so there could be mysterious tunnels under the school for people to get ganked in. Seriously, I have no idea why those tunnels were there.

Also, I don’t know if I’m just getting really good, but this whole plot was ridiculously predictable. Like every time the author threw in something to make you gasp, I would just let out a big yawn because it was completely see through. Apparently this book just didn’t stand a chance against my amazing skills of deduction.

Dusty as a character was fine. Yeah, just fine. I mean, she was there. doing stuff. Blah. And the whole romance love triangle thing with her was completely yawn worthy. There was no chemistry with one, just convenience, and the other guy was constantly hot and cold and of course with the flawless arch nemesis bitch girl. Plus, one of them had a ponytail. No thank you. Unless you’re pirate Orlando Bloom, you have no right to such a foul hair style.

However, I did like the whole idea with The Will controlling everything and keeping like everything kind of in balance. That was a pretty cool concept, unfortunately, I wish it had been address a bit more, other than how not having it would be bad.

So overall, this book was just way to blah for me. I felt no connection or concern to any of the characters at all, maybe because I knew all of the “betrayals” actually weren’t, or maybe just because they were all one dimensional. And the villain, in all honesty, was just kind of silly to me. Which makes me sad because I’m sure he will be in the next book. Not sure if I’ll be reading that one.

RATING:

Leave a Reply

