Review: Unspoken

Title: Unspoken (The Lynburn Legacy #1)10866624

Author: Sarah Rees Brennan

Publication Date: September 11, 2012

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Summary: Kami Glass loves someone she’s never met . . . a boy she’s talked to in her head ever since she was born. She wasn’t silent about her imaginary friend during her childhood, and is thus a bit of an outsider in her sleepy English town of Sorry-in-the-Vale. Still, Kami hasn’t suffered too much from not fitting in. She has a best friend, runs the school newspaper, and is only occasionally caught talking to herself. Her life is in order, just the way she likes it, despite the voice in her head.

But all that changes when the Lynburns return.

The Lynburn family has owned the spectacular and sinister manor that overlooks Sorry-in-the-Vale for centuries. The mysterious twin sisters who abandoned their ancestral home a generation ago are back, along with their teenage sons, Jared and Ash, one of whom is eerily familiar to Kami. Kami is not one to shy away from the unknown—in fact, she’s determined to find answers for all the questions Sorry-in-the-Vale is suddenly posing. Who is responsible for the bloody deeds in the depths of the woods? What is her own mother hiding? And now that her imaginary friend has become a real boy, does she still love him? Does she hate him? Can she trust him?

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I just want to start by saying that I really love the cover of this book. It’s different and I find it to be mysterious and gorgeous, if a little similar to Shiver by Maggie Steifvater. I raced through this book in a day, really enjoying this fun, witty, exciting ride that this book provided. However, there were a few problems.

Kami: Kami is the main character in this book, and she was definitely a spunky specimen. I found myself laughing at a lot of the clever things she said and her stubborn way of tackling situations. But, I felt like the author tried too hard to make her fun and witty. Like, as I read the book, I found myself feeling very sad that I would never be able to come up with some of the comebacks that Kami seemed to pull out of no where. But then I felt better realizing that the author probably sat there for an hour trying to think of a clever response, and there is no way someone is just naturally that quick and witty. I understand that the author wanted to create an interesting and unique female character, but I felt like she was trying to hard. Kami’s character was just not easy to relate to and unbelievable to me.

Jared: Jared is of course one of the romance interests and a dark, brooding guy with a mysterious past, which I will admit, I usually like. And I did enjoy Jared a lot. He kept up with Kami’s wit in a believable sort of way and I felt that most of his reactions to things were realistic. He was very hot and cold though. One second he is being a rude jerk and demanding that Kami stays away from him, then the next second, his thoughts are all warm and fuzzy and sweet. I definitely felt like he was the most tormented character.

The other minor characters were just kind of blah to me. I liked Angela, even though she was mean and all the author seemed to want to tell us about her was that she napped all the time. Ash was again, just one dimensional, and what he does at the end, you really have no idea why he does it… There is just lack of depth.

I was a little disappointed because the big mystery was really predictable, and the mysterious reasoning behind Jared and Kami’s connection was just kind of thrown out there quickly. Also, the ending was just quick and almost too silly for me to get into. Let’s just say that Angela suddenly became a ninja and was swinging around chains and doing some major damage. Overall though, this book was pretty fun and I enjoyed it in a guilty pleasure sort of way. I hope the second book has a bit more on the villain and develops the minor characters a bit more .

RATING:

Leave a Reply

